What A Foolish Message!

Which one is that?

Well 1 Corinthians 1:18 says, ‘For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.’

Verse 21 goes on to say, ‘…It pleased God through the foolishness of the message preached to save those who believe.’

Then verse 25 goes on to say, ‘…the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men.’

Why is the message considered foolish? Well because the way that people (and in this passage – Greeks) would have brought us salvation was completely different from the way that God chose to do it.

The God solution was an outright stumbling block.

So, which one will I stick with??
I think I’ll stick with the foolish message.

I have found that foolish message to be a wonderfully foolish message, one so foolish that I’ll stake my life and my eternity on it.

And what is that foolish message?
To put it in a nutshell – Jesus Christ died on the cross for my sins. I (and all of us) had a problem – we were sinners.
We had a problem – our sin had put a barrier between us and God.
We needed a savior who could bridge the gap between God and us.
Jesus Himself bridged that gap!

As I believe on Him and put my trust in Him, He has given me salvation, has forgiven my sins and has given me eternal life, that starts right now (in the form of a relationship with Him, plus peace of mind)!

What a wonderful message!

I get the feeling that in addition to everything else this passage is telling us, it also includes the message – even on a bad day, God is wiser than men on their best day.

And by the way, I don’t believe that God has bad days, because He is perfect.
And by the way, days are a constraint on time and space, and God who is eternal is not bound by space and time.

Those are people constraints.

God however does take care of us in our ‘time’.

And so, I embrace that foolish message. I thank God for His infinite wisdom, and I pray that it will get through the hearts of the people around me who need to hear it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What A Foolish Message!

  1. Andy says:

    The first few chapters of 1 Corinthians are some of my favorite passages of Scripture. God sure sent a curve ball to the “wise” when he accomplished the cross.

Leave a Reply

