Middle Verse!

Which one is that?

Psalm 118:8, which says, “It is better to trust in the Lord Than to put confidence in man.”

Why do I call this the middle verse?

Well because there are an equal number of Bible verses before and an equal number after this verse.
(I didn’t count them, but someone did!)

And I happened to read it this morning as I did my Bible reading.
It seems to me that verse 8 sums it all up –
Put your trust in the Lord and what He has and will do and don’t put your trust in man and his good ideas.

There are other wonderful verses in this same Psalm – Like:
Verses 1 – 6 which talk about God’s unfailing mercy and faithfulness towards us.
Or verses 11 – 16 which talk about God’s protection and watchful care over us in the midst of overwhelming situations.

There are also 2 Messianic verses (pointing to Jesus)
In Verse 22 – ‘the stone which the builders rejected’,
And Verse 25 – ‘Save now I pray O Lord’ (Save means Hosanna – and this is what the people were shouting as Jesus rode into Jerusalem on the donkey).

And of course there is
Verse 24 – ‘This is the day the Lord has made. We will rejoice and be glad in it.’

So, as you can see, I love this Psalm.
I encourage you also to check it out!

This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

