Life According To Job!

Ever read the book of Job?

I hadn’t read it in a while, but decided to take the plunge this week.

If you are looking for a quick ‘pick me up’ or verses that will ‘give me a zing’, then Job probably isn’t the place for you to go.

The way I usually approach Job is to skim through all the counsel that his friends give him.

I then look for the things that Job has to say that shed light on his heart, on God and on suffering.

Here are some of my finds from today’s reading:

Job 9: 9,10 – “He made the Bear, Orion, and the Pleiades, And the chambers of the south; He does great things past finding out, Yes, wonders without number.” (NKJV)

My response – I believe Job has a good sense of perspective.
He is aware of God’s awesome creation, as well as God’s awesomeness in orchestrating all the incredible intracacies of life.

Job 9:27 – “If I say, ‘I will forget my complaint, I will put off my sad face and wear a smile,’ (NKJV)

My response – This is another great verse, one that our family talks about alot – a good motivator for having a PMA – ‘positive mental attitude’.

Job 13: 15,16 – “Though He slay me, yet will I trust Him. Even so, I will defend my own ways before Him. He also shall be my salvation, For a hypocrite could not come before Him.” (NKJV)

My response – Job keeps things in perspective.
No matter what is going on in his life, he plans to trust God.
He also realizes that God is the one who will rescue and take care of him.

Anyhow, that’s enough from Job for now.
God gave him amazing perspective in the midst of overwhelming trials, and as he had to listen to the so called wisdom of well meaning friends.

So, have a great day – more from Job in future days…

This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

