Which Is It??

So, is the glass half empty or half full, and why??

Your answer will tell something about how you look not only at glasses of water, but may also tell something about how you look at life.

In other words, if you think the glass is half empty, you may be a pessimist.

Pessimists tend to see the more skeptical or negative side of things.

If you think the glass is half full then you may be an optimist.

Optimists tend to see the positive and more hopeful side of things.

I personally believe the glass is half full. Why is that? Well you guessed it – yes I am an optimist.

For me and many optimists, there are good things hiding around the next corner.
We just have to find them.
Life is full of possibilities and full of hope.

My own optimism is blended with another trait – that of realism.

Realists tend to be realistic about things and form opinions or speculations based on weighing options and forming decisions based on how something performed in the past, and what the climate is for them to perform in the future.

By now you may have checked out of this discussion or I may have prompted you to at least ask yourself –
Which am I?

My own realistic optimism is not based on a ‘pie in the sky’ naive view of things.

My own view is based on a few simple yet profound resolves:
– God is for me and He happens to be in charge of all of life. (Romans 8: 31,32)

– All things work together for good in those that love God and are called according to His purposes. (Romans 8:28)

– I have great hope – because I am a possibility thinker and because I have seen God ‘come through’ time and time again and show His faithfulness to me. (Psalm 92:2)

So, I think I’ll go drink the rest of the water in the glass, so I can refill it once again, take a fresh drink and be ready for the challenges of the new day!

This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Which Is It??

  1. Eileen says:

    I think most of the time I would fall int the optimist category. But sometimes I am also optimistically pessimistic and other times I am pessimistically optimistic. Today…I think that glass is half full! 🙂

  2. Sandra says:

    Great post, Karl!! As are all of them! HAPPY BIRTHDAY on Friday!! And which kind of FISHING are you going to be doing then?

Leave a Reply

