Pride in Norfolk!


Male and female lion in the sun at the Norfolk Zoo.

When I paid a visit to the Norfolk Zoo yesterday, it was especially challenging to get a good photo of the lions.

When I first got there, they were simply 5 sleepy lions sprawled out on the grass, heads down, sound asleep.
They were not cooperating with my desire to get a good photo.
After all they should have known that I was there and ready. Silly huh?

Later when I came back by to try again, they had at least lifted their heads a bit and were more visible.
I had to stand in just the right spot to get a shot of them, which I did.

Ever since I was a kid I have enjoyed walking around zoos and yes I also like to go to the circus, when I am able.
I love seeing the animals.

By the way, to get back to the title of this blog post – ‘Pride in Norfolk’ – a pride is a male lion and a group of females in his domain.
I was trying to be clever with the word pride – get it?

Anyhow, I am also a fan of CS Lewis’ ‘Narnia Chronicles’.
And as you likely know, one of his prominent characters in the book ‘The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe’ is Aslan. He is a character that represents Jesus our Savior.

My favorite Scripture that connects Jesus with the lion is: Revelation 5:5.

It says this, “But one of the elders said to me, ‘Do not weep. Behold, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the Root of David, has prevailed to open the scroll and to loose its seven seals.’”

I believe that verse refers to Jesus, as the lion who is able to open the scroll.

And so, I believe that CS Lewis’ metaphor using Aslan to represent Jesus is very fair indeed.

And so, as I enjoyed the ‘Pride of Norfolk’, in the warm sun, these were the kinds of things that passed through my mind.

This entry was posted in Zoo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pride in Norfolk!

  1. Eileen says:

    We love going to the Norfolk zoo too. And usually the lions don’t cooperate for us either. Nice Shot!

Leave a Reply

