He Never Forgets!

African Elephant at Norfolk Zoo

Did you know that elephants have a reputation to uphold?

People often say that they do not forget anything. I guess if I was that big I wouldn’t forget anything either, and no one would forget me after they met me.

Here’s something to think about – We often hear people say that God forgets our sins. Well I beg to differ. Forgetting something to me shows a sign of weakness or of not being perfect.

My God however is perfect. I believe that rather than ‘forgetting our sins’, that He chooses not to remember them. There is a difference between the two phrases.

Isaiah 43:25 says this, “I, even I, am He who blots out your transgressions for My own sake; And I will not remember your sins.” (NKJV)

To me that verse is one example of how God treats us. Because He is perfect in all ways, God never forgets anything. Because of His great love and forgiveness toward us in His Son, Jesus, He ‘chooses not to remember’ our sins, but washes them away.

For that I am very grateful.

I will always remember God’s goodness towards me. He will always remember me, but thankfully He will not remember my sins.

I believe we would do well to ask Him to build that trait in us also. Then we will have a different attitude towards the other people in our lives who do us wrong.

And so it goes with (not) remembering…

This entry was posted in Zoo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

