HOPE – Jesus My Anchor…

More thoughts on HOPE…

Jesus My Anchor..

I used to do alot of canoeing and fishing on the James River and Shenandoah River in central Virginia. In addition to all the other stuff I piled into the canoe, I also had 2 anchors – one  tied to the front and rear of the canoe.

When I would get to a shallow spot just below some rapids on the river, I would toss my anchors into the river and they would catch between the rocks that lined the bottom of the river. I could then sit there in my canoe, toss my fishing line in the water and have a prime spot to try to catch the small mouthed bass that lurked between the rocks and in the rapids.

Without my anchors I would drift downstream, away from the prime fishing spot, and the fish probably smiled as I drifted away.

As far as anchors go, scripture tells us in Hebrews 6: 18,19 that Jesus is the anchor of our souls, and that in Him we have hope! Not only is He our anchor and hope, but He also gives us access to the very presence of God.

And so we have hope – plus we have something else to think about at this time of the year… 

Because Jesus came we have great hope, we have an anchor, and we have access to the very presence of God through Him!

I don’t know about you, but this news makes me want to shout!

This entry was posted in Christmas and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HOPE – Jesus My Anchor…

  1. bowdenblog says:

    Ahh, good memories, those days on the river and fishing below the rapids

  2. frogsview says:

    Great memories indeed – in the canoe together, fishin, paddlin, talkin, swimmin…

Leave a Reply

