Shock To My System..

That’s what happened when I got on my one month old bicycle this afternoon and rode and rode and rode.

All the other times I have ridden it (4 or 5) it was night-time and cold. I had to figure out the clip-in pedal thing and shifting thing in the dark, but got it now. Those days were 2 – 3 weeks ago.

And so today there I was in the broad daylight riding and having a good time.

I rode south in our fair county and the prevailing air temperature was 40 – 45 degrees and the sun was shining. Unfortunately I had a head wind coming right at me out of the south and east. And so it gave me some resistance all the way down to the southern tip of our fair county, at the point where the road ends and river and sound start.

And then a wonderful thing happened. I turned my bicycle around and started back. And I now had a tail wind pushing me along back up the road.

Pedaling and pedaling I went along the way. My insulated clothing did the trick and kept me plenty warm. I made it home safely after this long jaunt, clocking 27.5 miles on the day’s ride.

And then after an hour or so, my body started reminding me that I had done something to it today that had not happened in 2 – 3 weeks – that thing being exercise!

Well it better get used to it, because on the warm enough evenings and weekend patches of warmer winter days, I’ll be out there pedaling along. Hopefully next time it won’t be such a shock to my system..

This entry was posted in Bicycle Riding Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shock To My System..

  1. Eileen says:

    Good for you! I think I will be feeling your pain tomorrow. Haven’t been running in almost 3 weeks. I am determined to get out there tomorrow.

  2. bowdenblog says:

    isn’t it sad how quickly the body falls back out of shape?

Leave a Reply

