Jesus on ‘Being Good Enough’

  1. Ever heard unchurched people say things like this?
  • I’m a pretty good person. – See Romans 3: 10 – 18, 23
  • I think my life is good enough that I will make it to heaven. Good enough for who? Filthy rags, our own righteousness – Isaiah 64:6
  •  I haven’t really committed bad sins (like those other guys), in Luke 18: 9 – 14.

2. You also hear church going people say things like this, that show they don’t understand grace

  • I’ve attended church since I was this tall -> (Insert height)
  • I’ve had perfect Sunday School attendance for 27 years
  • I’ve been a member of such and such church and my daddy was a deacon and my granddaddy was a preacher. Everyone must individually get things right with God, believe on His name and receive Christ.(John 1:12)
  •  I’ve always followed the 10 commandments – Sorry but that’s not what’s going to get you into heaven. Matt 19: 16 – 22

 3. The truth is – it’s all about grace, we can’t earn it, we don’t deserve it.

  • Ephesians 2: 8,9 – ‘by grace you have been saved through faith, it is the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast’
  •  Romans 3:24 – justified freely by HIS grace
  •  Galatians 2:16 –  We are justified by faith in Jesus Christ, not by the works of the Law
  •  God bridged the gap between Himself and us by sending Jesus to us. See Romans 5:8
This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

