Old Testament Prophecies Fulfilled in the New Testament

I encourage you to grab your Bible and read along. I’m going to be talking about some key Old Testament prophecies that speak of the coming of the Messiah. They also talk about the New Covenant. Then we will read the scriptures in the New Testament that explains how they were fulfilled.

  1. Old Testament Prophets & Prophecy – Jeremiah 33: 14 – 18

‘Behold, days are coming,’ declares the Lord, ‘when I will fulfill the good word which I have spoken concerning the house of Israel and the house of Judah. In those days and at that time I will cause a righteous Branch of David to spring forth; and He shall execute justice and righteousness on the earth. In those days Judah will be saved and Jerusalem will dwell in safety; and this is the name by which she will be called: the Lord is our righteousness.’ For thus says the Lord, ‘David shall never lack a man to sit on the throne of the house of Israel; and the Levitical priests shall never lack a man before Me to offer burnt offerings, to burn grain offerings and to prepare sacrifices continually.’”

  • V14 – The good word – and it is indeed good!
  • V15 – God will raise up a Messianic Kingdom, of the line of David – The Branch (Hebrew word is like a shoot on the David tree) of Righteousness (also see Isaiah 4:2, Zech 3:8, )– to execute (or carry out) righteousness and justice,
  • V16 – The Lord is our righteousness – Hebrew phrase is Jehovah Tsidkaynoo (Isaiah 45:17,22 – 25, 51:6)

‘Israel has been saved by the Lord With an everlasting salvation;
You will not be put to shame or humiliated To all eternity. “Turn to Me and be saved, all the ends of the earth; For I am God, and there is no other. “I have sworn by Myself, The word has gone forth from My mouth in righteousness And will not turn back, That to Me every knee will bow, every tongue will swear allegiance. “They will say of Me, ‘Only in the Lord are righteousness and strength.’ Men will come to Him, And all who were angry at Him will be put to shame. “In the Lord all the offspring of Israel Will be justified and will glory.”’

  •  God swears by Himself. There is no one greater that He can swear by.
  • The covenant with David provides for divine succession – Jesus being the Son of David. (2 Samuel 7:16) The Levitical priesthood also had divine succession in Jesus. (Ezek 44:15, 1 Peter 2:5,9) Jesus as priest and king fulfills both key components of this prophecy.
  • We know from reading the book of Hebrews that Jesus offered the perfect sacrifice of Himself, and eliminated the need for daily sacrifices, or any others for that matter. (Hebrews 10:10, 12 – 23)

“but He, having offered one sacrifice for sins for all time, sat down at the right hand of God,  waiting from that time onward until His enemies be made a footstool for His feet.  For by one offering He has perfected for all time those who are sanctified. And the Holy Spirit also testifies to us; for after saying, “This is the covenant that I will make with them After those days, says the Lord: I will put My laws upon their heart, And on their mind I will write them,” He then says, “And their sins and their lawless deeds I will remember no more.” Now where there is forgiveness of these things, there is no longer any offering for sin. Therefore, brethren, since we have confidence to enter the holy place by the blood of Jesus,  by a new and living way which He inaugurated for us through the veil, that is, His flesh, and since we have a great priest over the house of God,  let us draw near with a sincere heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled clean from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water.  Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful.”

  • He is the perfect high priest, the perfect sacrifice, the perfect king, and is in charge of the perfect kingdom – the Kingdom of God. 
  • Another key passage is Jeremiah 31: 31 – 34.

 “Behold, days are coming,” declares the Lord, “when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah, not like the covenant which I made with their fathers in the day I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt, My covenant which they broke, although I was a husband to them,” declares the Lord. “But this is the covenant which I will make with the house of Israel after those days,” declares the Lord, “I will put My law within them and on their heart I will write it; and I will be their God, and they shall be My people. They will not teach again, each man his neighbor and each man his brother, saying, ‘Know the Lord,’ for they will all know Me, from the least of them to the greatest of them,” declares the Lord, “for I will forgive their iniquity, and their sin I will remember no more.”

  • A new covenant (Matt 26:26-28, Heb 8: 8 – 12)
  • For finding fault with them, He says, “Behold, days are coming, says the Lord, When I will effect a new covenant With the house of Israel and with the house of Judah; Not like the covenant which I made with their fathers On the day when I took them by the hand To lead them out of the land of Egypt; For they did not continue in My covenant, And I did not care for them, says the Lord.
    “For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel After those days, says the Lord: I will put My laws into their minds, And I will write them on their hearts. And I will be their God, And they shall be My people.  “And they shall not teach everyone his fellow citizen, And everyone his brother, saying, ‘Know the Lord,’ For all will know Me, From  the least to the Greatest of them. “For I will be merciful to their iniquities, And I will remember their sins no more.”

    • Jeremiah was the only OT prophet who used the words ‘New Covenant’. God’s law within them and on their hearts. No longer are priests our intermediaries. Now we have direct access to the Lord. No middle men!
    • What difference does this make to me? How can I be a bearer of the good news contained in this scripture passage? Better yet, how can you and I apply and walk out the truth contained in these key passages?

 

2. Prayer – 1 Thess 3: 9 – 13

“For what thanks can we render to God for you in return for all the joy with which we rejoice before our God on your account, as we night and day keep praying most earnestly that we may see your face, and may complete what is lacking in your faith? Now may our God and Father Himself and Jesus our Lord direct our way to you; and may the Lord cause you to increase and abound in love for one another, and for all people, just as we also do for you; so that He may establish your hearts without blame in holiness before our God and Father at the coming of our Lord Jesus with all His saints.”

  • Prayer was a priority of Paul, but not only that – also there was much praise and thanksgiving.
  • Paul wanted to see the saints in Thess to help them grow, yet more and more in their faith.
  • Verses 11 – 13 – A wonderful prayer – that we could memorize, pray ourselves and. He prays that our love for one another would grow more and more, which it does. (John 13:35) hearts are blameless in holiness, at His coming, along with the angels – which will happen! 
  • Remember what I talked about last week – increasing and abounding in love.
  • V13 – Remember that He has established our hearts without blame.
  • Plus remember Paul’s words about prayer in Ephesians 6.
  • So what difference does this passage make to me? What can I gain from it? How will it help me grow in my walk with the Lord?  Better yet, how can you and I apply and walk out the truth contained in this passage?
This entry was posted in Christmas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

