78 Mile Bicycle Ride – North Carolina to Virginia and Back

And so today I set out on another mega bicycle ride. I rode from my house up familiar roads to near Moyock, North Carolina and into Chesapeake, Virginia then to southern Virginia Beach. I cut through the southern Virginia Beach countryside on several roads, ultimately ending up on Princess Ann Road. I followed it south all the way back into North Carolina and to the Knotts Island, Currituck Sound Ferry port.

I reached the ferry port at mile 56 on my ride. After a pleasant (and free) 45 minute ride on the ferry across the Sound, I pedaled another 22 miles through the North Carolina coastal countryside and back home.

Here are photos of some of the scenery and places that I saw as I rode. It was a beautiful day and a good time was had by this now tired bicycle rider.

va beach

pungo 01

nc welcome sign

mackay island

knotts island 01

bowden

ferry 01

ferry 02

 

 

ferry 03

ferry 04

 

This entry was posted in Bicycle Riding Stories, Eliz City Area, Great Outdoors, OBX, Outer Banks and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 78 Mile Bicycle Ride – North Carolina to Virginia and Back

  1. Donna Lewis says:

    Makes me want to go back home!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

